Tanya Jepun

Conveyor-Belt Sushi in Japan for Muslim Families (2026): Sushiro, Kura, Hama, Kappa — Prices, Ingredients & Prayer Rooms

Checked 2026-11-02 · Updated 2026-11-02

Sushi plates and edamame on a conveyor belt at a Sushiro restaurant (illustrative)
Photo: Leonardo Ziaja / Unsplash

Checked 2 Nov 2026. Everything below comes only from the chains' official pages (menus, allergen tables, FAQs, press releases); blogs and reviews were not used as evidence. Where an official page doesn't say something, we write "not listed on the official site". The labels are read for you; the decision is yours.

Short answer. At Sushiro, Kura Sushi, Hama Sushi and Kappa Sushi, no official site mentions halal certification, and none says whether the soy sauce, sauces or sushi rice contain alcohol. The fish itself is not the issue for many families; the seasonings and the frying oil are. Hama says plainly that its frying oil is shared. Plates start at ¥110 (≈ RM2.84) at Kura, Hama and Kappa and ¥120 (≈ RM3.10) at Sushiro; city-centre branches can cost more. Checked 2 November 2026.

Why now: 1 November is "Sushi Day" in Japan, set in 1961 by the national federation of sushi shops (Zensuren), per JAL SKYWARD+. Malaysian families keep asking which chain is "safest". The table below does not rate taste. It rates price and how much the official sites actually tell you.

The full map (paid)

231 places — halal food, prayer rooms and mosques — in 19 prefectures of Japan, each with its official source and check date. US$6.99, one-time, free updates. See the map →

1. Tier list: price and official information (not taste)

How we scored: cheapest plate ¥110 = 2 points, ¥120 = 1 point. Plus 1 point each for: (a) an allergen table dated 2026, (b) sushi rice and soy sauce listed as rows in the allergen table, (c) the official site says frying oil is shared, (d) the official site names the touch-panel languages, (e) a kids' prize is mentioned on the official site. Maximum 7. S = 6 or more, A = 4–5, B = 3, C = 2 or less.

TierChainCheapest plate (tax included)PointsWhy, in one line
SKura Sushi¥110 (some branches ¥115, ¥125, ¥145)6Allergen table of 30 Oct 2026 lists sushi rice and soy sauce; 4-language panel; Bikkura-pon game every 5 plates
ASushiro¥120 (Akihabara Ekimae ¥150)4Touch panel in English, Chinese, Korean; allergen table 22 Oct 2026; soy sauce not in the table
AKappa Sushi¥110 (city branches differ)4Allergen table 27 Jul 2026; kids' menu with a capsule-toy coin; table soy sauce excluded from the allergen table
BHama Sushi¥110 (city branches differ)3The only one that says frying oil is shared; allergen page dated 1 May 2023; panel languages not stated
—Genki Sushi / Uobei—not ratedOfficial site could not be read without a browser on 2 Nov 2026

Checked 2 Nov 2026, official sources (source table below). No chain landed in tier C this time.

2. Five things in one table

ChainSushi plate prices (from the official menu)LanguagesSushi rice, soy sauce, mirin, sauces: what the official site saysFor kidsHalal
SushiroFrom ¥120 (English site). Akihabara Ekimae menu: nigiri ¥150–¥390Touch panel: English, Chinese (simplified), Korean. App is multilingualAllergen table has a row for sushi rice (no allergens marked) and pickled ginger; no row for table soy sauce. Alcohol not listedKake udon ¥260, fries ¥220 (Akihabara Ekimae); child seats and nappy-changing tables (FAQ)Not mentioned on the official site
Kura Sushi"¥110" branches: nigiri ¥110–¥380. There are also ¥115, ¥125 and ¥145 branchesOrder panel in 4 languages (2020 press release, Asakusa ROX; languages not named). Site: English, Chinese, KoreanAllergen table has rows for sushi rice (mixed vinegar), soy sauce and sweet sauce. Sushi vinegar: rice vinegar + salt, "free of the 4 major additives". Alcohol not listedDashi udon ¥250, fries ¥210; Bikkura-pon prize game every 5 plates; sushi served without wasabi; box seatsNot mentioned on the official site
Hama SushiNigiri ¥110–¥319Site: English, Chinese. Panel languages not statedAllergen page: "condiments you add yourself are not included"; "frying oil is shared"; noodles cooked in the same equipment. Alcohol not listedKake udon ¥242, fries ¥242; child seats at every branch (FAQ)Not mentioned on the official site
Kappa SushiStandard nigiri ¥110–¥462Web menu: English, Chinese, Korean. Panel languages not statedAllergen table: "condiments you choose (soy sauce, Tabasco) and sauces are not included". Alcohol not listedKake udon ¥209 (weekdays), small fries ¥209, kids' udon ¥297 with a capsule-toy coin; sushi without wasabiNot mentioned on the official site
Genki Sushi / UobeiNot checkedNot checkedNot checkedNot checkedNot checked

In ringgit (¥100 = RM2.580, ECB 30 Oct 2026; prices checked 2 Nov 2026): a ¥110 plate ≈ RM2.84 · ¥120 ≈ RM3.10 · ¥150 ≈ RM3.87. A family eating 20 plates: ¥2,200 ≈ RM56.76 at a ¥110 branch, ¥2,400 ≈ RM61.92 at a ¥120 Sushiro, ¥3,000 ≈ RM77.40 at Sushiro Akihabara Ekimae. Between ¥110 and ¥120 the gap for 20 plates is only ¥200 (≈ RM5.16), so choose on information, not price.

3. 4 traps before you sit down

  1. Alcohol is not an allergen, so it is not in the tables. All four allergen tables follow Japan's 28 legal allergen items, and alcohol is not one of them. "No mark" does not mean no mirin or sake. All four official menus also sell beer or sake. At the counter, show this line: 醤油やたれにアルコールは入っていますか? (Does this soy sauce or sauce contain alcohol?)
  2. Pork is on the same menu. The allergen tables have a 豚肉 (pork) column and a ゼラチン (gelatin) column, and every chain sells pork plates: Sushiro 焼豚にぎり, Kura 豚カルビ, Hama 豚塩カルビ and とん汁 soup, Kappa's teriyaki hamburger (pork marked). Check that column before you tap "order", and don't take plates off the belt that you did not order.
  3. Frying oil and equipment are shared. Hama states its frying oil is shared; Sushiro, Kura and Kappa say other ingredients can get mixed in during in-store cooking. If your family avoids food fried in the same oil as pork, stick to raw-fish nigiri or boiled dishes, not tempura or fries.
  4. Prices depend on the branch. Sushiro says "From 120 yen", but its Akihabara Ekimae branch starts at ¥150. Kura has 4 price levels (¥110 to ¥145). Hama and Kappa say city branches are priced differently. Check the branch menu on the official site before you go (prices checked 2 Nov 2026).

4. Could not be verified (2 Nov 2026)

5. Prayer rooms and halal food nearby

These chains have branches across Tokyo and Osaka, including near the big stations. Prayer rooms by area, checked on official pages: Prayer rooms in Tokyo · Prayer rooms in Osaka. If you want sushi with halal seasonings, the Kyoto list includes a sushi shop listed with halal seasonings: Halal food near Kyoto Station. How to read Japan's 3 kinds of "halal" label: The 3 halal labels.

When an official page changes, this article is updated.

Links in this article may be affiliate links (Trip.com). Your price doesn't change; it helps me keep checking these lists.


Sources

All checked 2 November 2026. Next check: 2 December 2026 (prices, allergen table dates, Genki Sushi).

#SourceUsed forURL
1Sushiro, allergen table (updated 22 Oct 2026)28 allergens, pork and gelatin columns, sushi rice rowhttps://www3.akindo-sushiro.co.jp/pdf/menu/allergy.pdf
2Sushiro, FAQMultilingual app, child seats, kids' coinhttps://www.akindo-sushiro.co.jp/faq/
3Sushiro, English site"From 120 yen (including tax) per plate", touch-panel languageshttps://www.akindo-sushiro.co.jp/en/
4Sushiro, Akihabara Ekimae branch menuNigiri, udon, fries and drink priceshttps://www.akindo-sushiro.co.jp/menu/menu_detail/?s_id=849
5Kura Sushi, menu¥110/¥115/¥125/¥145 price levels, nigiri, udon, frieshttps://www.kurasushi.co.jp/menu/
6Kura Sushi, allergen table (30 Oct 2026)Sushi rice, soy sauce, sweet sauce rows; pork and gelatin columnshttps://www.kurasushi.co.jp/common/pdf/kura_allergen.pdf
7Kura Sushi, how-to guideBikkura-pon every 5 plates, box seatshttps://www.kurasushi.co.jp/fan/howto.php
8Kura Sushi, quality pageSushi vinegar, soy sauce, no wasabihttps://www.kurasushi.co.jp/quality/taste.php
9Kura Sushi, Asakusa ROX press release (2020)4-language order panelhttps://www.kurasushi.co.jp/author/000691.html
10Hama Sushi, menuNigiri, udon, fries, pork disheshttps://www.hama-sushi.co.jp/menu/
11Hama Sushi, allergensShared frying oil, condiments not includedhttps://www.hama-sushi.co.jp/menu/allergen/
12Hama Sushi, FAQChild seats, app queueinghttps://www.hama-sushi.co.jp/contact/faq/
13Kappa Sushi, English menuNo wasabi, city branch prices differhttps://www.kappasushi.jp/menu2/en
14Kappa Sushi, allergen table (27 Jul 2026)Soy sauce and sauces excluded, pork and gelatin columnshttps://www.kappasushi.jp/master_data/pdf/info_allergen.pdf
15Genki SushiCould not be read without a browserhttps://www.genkisushi.info/
16JAL SKYWARD+, Sushi Day1 November, set in 1961https://skywardplus.jal.co.jp/plus_one/calendar/sushiday/

Yen–ringgit rate: ECB via Frankfurter, 30 October 2026 (¥100 = RM2.580).

Book for this trip

Affiliate links may be used; your price doesn't change.

Before you fly: Map of 231 halal places & prayer rooms (US$6.99) — December Edition, 15 Nov.

Free cheat sheetFree: "Read a Japanese food label in 60 seconds" (PDF, English and BM) — sign up here. Save this.