Tanya Jepun

Halal Food in Osaka: 19 Places to Eat and 9 Places to Pray, by Area (Status from Official Pages, 2026)

Checked 2026-09-15 · Updated 2026-10-31

The Dotonbori canal and its billboards in Osaka in the daytime
Photo: Roméo A. / Unsplash

Updated 1 October 2026: this version is rewritten from official pages of the restaurants, the airport, the station, the malls and the mosques (checked 28–29 September 2026), and every place has a "source" link. The 15 September version relied on third-party directories; places we could not confirm on an official page are taken out (section 4). Status is written in the source's own words; we don't upgrade it. Update 29 October 2026: the JR Osaka Station, Namba CITY and LaLaport EXPOCITY prayer rooms now match their official pages as checked on 18 October 2026. Update 31 October 2026: the KIX prayer rooms and Kineya Mugimaru were re-checked on the airport's official site; the 24-hour opening of the prayer rooms is stated on the Japanese page only (the English page gives the locations only). Halal status can change: confirm at the restaurant before you eat.

Short answer (checked 28–29 Sept 2026; Namba CITY and JR Osaka 18 Oct 2026; KIX 31 Oct 2026). If you stay in Namba (Osaka hotels for families), halal food is closest here: 10 places in Namba, Dotonbori and Shinsaibashi, including wagyu (GYUMON, PANGA, Namba-Tei), ramen (Honolu) and okonomiyaki (Chibo Diversity 7F). But read the status: not one place to eat in our Osaka list names its certifying body; most say "halal certified" without naming one. To pray: Namba CITY B1F (ask at the information counter, 11:30–20:00) and JR Osaka Station 1F (register first, 11:00–18:00, 20 minutes at most). At KIX T1 there are 24-hour prayer rooms (per the airport's Japanese page) on 3F in the general area, before security, and in the international gate area (after security).

0. By area: one pick first

If you're in…PickStatus (per the official page)Prayer nearby
Namba / Dotonbori (family hotels)GYUMON Osaka Dotonbori 2nd (wagyu ramen, gyukatsu, A5 burger)"No pork. No alcohol. 100% Halal Japanese Wagyu." (body not named)Namba CITY B1F
ShinsaibashiGYUMON Osaka Shinsaibashi (A5 wagyu sukiyaki and ramen)"All ingredients are prepared in accordance with Islamic dietary laws"Namba CITY B1F
Umeda / Osaka StationOsaka Buyu-Den (wagyu ramen, Higashi-Umeda)"100% Halal-Certified / Muslim-Friendly Restaurant" (body not named); prayer room in the shopJR Osaka Station 1F
Shinsekai / TsutenkakuGYUMON Osaka Tsutenkaku Shinsekai"No pork. No alcohol. 100% Halal Japanese Wagyu."—
Kaiyukan / TempozanNo place to eat in our list—Tempozan Marketplace 3F
KIX (arriving/leaving)Kineya Mugimaru (udon, T1 2F, before security)"Muslim-friendly, and offers Halal menu items" (airport page)T1 3F, general area (24 hours); T1 international gate area
USJNo entriesWe could not open USJ's official site, so we say nothing about food inside the park. Ask at the restaurants or Guest Services—
Kobe (Sannomiya)Kobe Beef Steak SAKURA (Kobe beef teppanyaki)Ingredients and seasonings halal-certified (body not named); dedicated halal grills and utensilsKobe Muslim Mosque
NaraGYUMON Nara (1 minute from Kintetsu Nara Station)"No pork. No alcohol. 100% Halal Japanese Wagyu."—

A room for 4 in Namba/Shinimamiya is RM258–304 a night (28 Nov–2 Dec 2026, checked 12 Sept; the sums). Check your dates: Osaka hotels for 2 adults + 2 children on Trip.com (filter "free cancellation").

The full map (paid)

231 places — halal food, prayer rooms and mosques — in 19 prefectures of Japan, each with its official source and check date. US$6.99, one-time, free updates. See the map →

1. Four kinds of status: read these first

StatusMeaningExamples in Osaka
A · Certifying body namedThe official source names the bodyNone in our Osaka list
B · Shop says certified, body not namedThe shop's page says "halal certified" or "No pork. No alcohol. 100% Halal" without naming a bodyGYUMON, PANGA, Namba-Tei, Menya Honolu, Buyu-Den, Osaka Halal Restaurant (cites the Malaysian standard MS1500:2009, no body named)
C · Halal ingredients / no pork and no alcoholThe shop says its ingredients or wagyu are halal-certified, without claiming the shop itself isSHINJUKU-TEI Umeda, Honolu Grande Shinsaibashi, Kobe Beef Steak SAKURA
D · Muslim-friendly / halal menu only"Muslim-friendly", "Halal menu items", ハラルにも対応 (can do halal); the kitchen may also cook non-halal food, and some serve alcoholKineya Mugimaru (KIX), Yakiniku Zerohachi, Chibo Diversity, A dining, Tsuki Usagi Kobe

There is no JAKIM in Japan, and 7-Eleven, FamilyMart and Lawson have no halal certification. Ask at the counter: "Halal certified? Which organisation? Alcohol?"

2. The list by area

A. Namba · Dotonbori · Shinsaibashi (where family hotels are)

PlaceFoodStatus (per the official page)NotesSource
GYUMON Osaka DotonboriHalal wagyu ramen and vegan ramenB · the GYUMON group "received guidance from Halal certification authorities" (body not named)1F, 1-10-5 Dotonbori. 12:00–23:00. 24 seats, non-smokingShop page
GYUMON Osaka Dotonbori 2nd + A5 Wagyu BurgerRamen, gyukatsu, A5 wagyu burgerB · "No pork. No alcohol. 100% Halal Japanese Wagyu."5F, 1-3-15 Dotonbori. 12:00–23:00 (ramen page). Payment listed: card, e-money, QR (no cash line)Shop page
GYUMON Osaka ShinsaibashiA5 wagyu sukiyaki and ramenB · "All ingredients are prepared in accordance with Islamic dietary laws"1F, 2-8-20 Higashishinsaibashi. 12:00–23:00. 18 seatsShop page
Namba-Tei (Dotonbori)Wagyu steak-burgers and ramenB · "We proudly serve Halal-certified, alcohol-free dishes"; the page mentions a prayer room2F Oguraya Bldg, 7-5 Soemoncho. 10:00–1 am. Child-friendly, stroller OK, 22 seats. Check first: the halal section is titled for Tokyo (a chain template), so the prayer room may be a chain-wide statementOfficial page
Wagyu Yakiniku Osaka Panga (Shinsaibashisuji)Wagyu yakinikuB · ハラール認証を取得しました (has obtained halal certification)2-3-31 Shinsaibashisuji. Dinner only 17:30–23:00. 28 seats. A third-party map shows another shop's name at the same address: confirmOfficial page
Osaka Panga Branch (SecretBase)A5 wagyu yakinikuB · "We have obtained Halal certification"2F, 1-17-15 Higashishinsaibashi. 17:30–23:00, irregular closing days. 18 seatsBooking page
Menya Honolu Osaka NambaHalal ramenB · the brand says halal-certified since 2020; this shop "does not serve pork and alcohol at all"2-5-27 Motomachi, Naniwa-ku. 11:30–14:30 & 17:00–21:30. No reservationsHalal page
Honolu Grande Shinsaibashi (Osaka Halal Yokocho)Ramen and Osaka dishesC · listed on the brand site as 大阪ハラル横丁 (Osaka Halal Yokocho); the no-pork, no-alcohol statement is written for the Namba shop2-1-3 Shinsaibashisuji. 11:30–22:00. Ask about the menu and alcohol at this branchBrand site
Chibo Diversity (Dotonbori 7F)OkonomiyakiD · "Muslim-friendly store"; 7F only (1–6F are ordinary Chibo floors)1-5-5 Dotonbori. 12:00–15:00 & 17:00–22:00 (Thursday to midnight). English menu, accepts Touch 'n GoShop page
Yakiniku Zerohachi (OCAT 5F)Beef, chicken and lamb yakiniku buffetD · ムスリムフレンドリーハラール焼肉 (Muslim-friendly halal yakiniku); prayer spaceOCAT 5F, Minatomachi (also the airport bus terminal). Lunch 11:00–15:00; the dinner days conflict on the page: confirm. Children welcomeOfficial page

B. Umeda · Osaka Station

PlaceFoodStatus (per the official page)NotesSource
Osaka Buyu-Den (Higashi-Umeda)Halal wagyu ramenB · "100% Halal-Certified / Muslim-Friendly Restaurant"; halal-compliant kitchen, prayer roomSUNSUN Higashi-Umeda 2F. 12:00–21:00. Kid-friendly ramen setOfficial page
SHINJUKU-TEI UmedaA5 wagyu steak and gyukatsuC · halal-certified wagyu, "100% Halal Food", no pork or alcohol; prayer room7F Pont Nouveau, 2-5-30 Sonezaki. 12:00–21:00 (may close early). Multilingual menusOfficial page
A dining (GRAND GREEN OSAKA)Southeast Asian × JapaneseD · ムスリムフレンドリー / ハラルにも対応 (Muslim-friendly / can do halal)11:00–23:00. Kids' menu, stroller OK. The mall lists it in a category that includes alcoholMall directory

C. Shinsekai and outside the centre

PlaceFoodStatus (per the official page)NotesSource
GYUMON Osaka Tsutenkaku ShinsekaiWagyu ramen, gyukatsu, burgersB · "No pork. No alcohol. 100% Halal Japanese Wagyu."1F, 1-19-16 Ebisuhigashi (near Tsutenkaku). 12:00–22:00Shop page
Osaka Halal Restaurant (Nishiyodogawa)PakistaniB · "Malaysian Halal Standard MS1500-2009 Certification" (body not named), "100% Halal"4-13-2 Owada. 11:00–15:00 & 17:00–22:00. Friday buffet (not in Ramadan); no alcohol served or brought inOfficial page

D. Kansai Airport (KIX)

PlaceFoodStatus (per the official page)NotesSource
Kineya Mugimaru (T1 2F)Cafeteria-style udonD · "Muslim-friendly, and offers Halal menu items"Before security. 7:00–22:00Airport page

E. Kobe and Nara (day trips)

PlaceFoodStatus (per the official page)NotesSource
Kobe Beef Steak SAKURA (Sannomiya)Kobe beef teppanyakiC · "ingredients and seasonings … are halal-certified"; dedicated halal grills, plates and utensils, no pork2F Lion Bldg, 2-17-10 Shimoyamate-dori. 11:30–15:30 & 17:00–23:00. The halal menu has no alcohol; whether alcohol is served is not statedHalal page
Tsuki Usagi KobeHalal Kobe beef courseD · halal for that course only, body not stated8F Grandcoast Bldg, 2-11-5 Kitanagasa-dori. Booking recommended. Ask about kitchen separationOfficial page
GYUMON NaraWagyu ramen, gyukatsu, burgersB · "No pork. No alcohol. 100% Halal Japanese Wagyu."B1F, 48 Takamacho (1 minute from Kintetsu Nara Station). Hours differ between the ramen page (12:00–22:00) and the burger page (11:00–21:00)Shop page

For a Nara day trip: Nara day trip from Osaka, the real cost.

The full map (paid): halal places to eat, prayer rooms and mosques in 19 prefectures of Japan (Tokyo to Hokkaido, Kyushu and Okinawa), each with an official source link, the date checked and a Google map — Japan Halal & Prayer Map, US$6.99.

3. Where to pray in Osaka

Namba CITY, JR Osaka Station and LaLaport EXPOCITY were checked on their official pages on 18 Oct 2026; KIX on 31 Oct 2026; the other places on 28–29 Sept 2026.

PlaceWhereHoursNotesSource
Namba CITYMain Building B1F, opposite the soba shop 正流田舎そばRequests 11:30–20:00Ask first at the Namba CITY Information counter, B2F (checked 18 Oct 2026)Official page
JR Osaka Station1F South Gate Plaza (west end)11:00–18:00 (last registration 17:30)Free, open to anyone. Fill in a form first at Osaka Station City Information (North Gate Building 3F); 20 minutes at most (checked 18 Oct 2026)Official FAQ
KIX T1 3FTerminal 1, 3F, general area (一般エリア), before security24 hours (Japanese page)Separate for men and women, with ablution areas; open to all visitors. The English page only says "3rd floor" and gives no hours (checked 31 Oct 2026)Airport page (Japanese)
KIX T1, international gate areaMain Building and North Wing24 hours (Japanese page)After security, for international departures (checked 31 Oct 2026)Airport page (Japanese)
Tempozan Marketplace (next to Kaiyukan)3F, west sideNot statedSame floor as LEGOLAND Discovery Center. Ask at the information counterFloor map
LaLaport EXPOCITY (Suita)2F, Orange sideNot stated (follows mall hours)A men's room and a women's room, each with an ablution area. Go first to the 1F general counter at Hikari no Hiroba (checked 18 Oct 2026)Official page
Osaka Ibaraki Mosque4-6-13 Toyokawa, IbarakiNot statedAbout 7 minutes' walk from Toyokawa Station (Osaka Monorail). The website was last updated in March 2024; the official Facebook posted on 27–28 Sept 2026Official site
Kobe Muslim Mosque2-25-14 Nakayamate-dori, KobeVisits Sat–Thu 10:00–12:00 & 13:00–18:00 (not Friday)The official site calls it the oldest mosque in Japan. Upper floor for women; modest dress. Use kobemosque.com only (the mosque warns of fake sites)Official site

Prayer rooms inside restaurants: Buyu-Den and SHINJUKU-TEI Umeda (per their pages), Zerohachi (prayer space).

4. Not listed (don't follow old lists)

PlaceWhy it isn't here
Naritaya Osaka, Three Peace MatsuriThe official domains are now spam sites (treated as closed)
Le Marrakech (near Umeda Sky Building)Official calendar: temporarily closed 28 Sept–24 Oct 2026
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka halal bentoThe hotel's halal menu page is now a 404
Kuromon Market shops tagged "Halal"Only a category tag; the shops' own pages have no halal statement
Dotonbori Mitsuru, GokumiyaNo halal statement on their official pages. The 15 Sept version listed Mitsuru; we took it out
Halal Tani9 Furusato Honke (Sennichimae)"Halal" is only in the name, with no statement about the food
Ali's Kitchen, NAZAR, Cafe BINTANG, Wabi Sabi, Marhaba! (in the 15 Sept version)We only found them in third-party directories; not yet checked on an official page, so taken out for now
Prayer rooms at Daimaru Shinsaibashi, Hankyu Umeda, Takashimaya, Abeno HarukasNot on any of their official pages
Osaka Masjid (Nishiyodogawa), Masjid Istiqlal Osaka, Osaka Grand MasjidNo official page we could confirm (address or current activity)
Restaurants inside USJWe could not open USJ's official site

5. Three small things

Affiliate links may be used; your price doesn't change. Halal status is what the official page says on the date checked, not our certification. I read the label; you decide. Checked 28–29 September 2026 (Namba CITY, JR Osaka Station and LaLaport EXPOCITY prayer rooms: 18 October 2026; KIX: 31 October 2026); updated 31 October 2026.


Sources

SourceForChecked
GYUMON Osaka Dotonbori — gyumon-group.comStatus B, address, hours, 24 seats28 Sept 2026
GYUMON Osaka Dotonbori 2nd + A5 Wagyu Burger — gyumon-group.com"No pork. No alcohol.", address, payment2 Nov 2026 (old URL 404, moved page)
GYUMON Osaka Shinsaibashi — gyumon-group.comStatus B, address, hours, 18 seats28 Sept 2026
Namba-Tei (Dotonbori) — 5w-osaka.comStatus B, prayer room (chain template), hours28 Sept 2026
Wagyu Yakiniku Osaka Panga — wagyu-panga.jpStatus B, dinner only, 28 seats29 Sept 2026
Osaka Panga Branch (SecretBase), booking page — tablecheck.comStatus B, hours, 18 seats29 Sept 2026
Menya Honolu Osaka Namba, halal page — halalramen-honolu.netCertified since 2020, no pork or alcohol, hours1 Oct 2026
Honolu Grande Shinsaibashi, brand site — halalramen-honolu.netOsaka Halal Yokocho, address, hours29 Sept 2026
Chibo Diversity (Dotonbori 7F) — shop.chibo.com"Muslim-friendly store", 7F only, Touch 'n Go28 Sept 2026
Yakiniku Zerohachi (OCAT 5F) — gorp.jpStatus D, prayer space, conflicting dinner days28 Sept 2026
Osaka Buyu-Den — osaka-buyuden.comStatus B, prayer room, hours28 Sept 2026
SHINJUKU-TEI Umeda — halal-shinjukutei.comStatus C, prayer room, hours28 Sept 2026
A dining (GRAND GREEN OSAKA), mall directory — umekita.comStatus D, kids' menu28 Sept 2026
GYUMON Osaka Tsutenkaku Shinsekai — gyumon-group.comStatus B, address, hours28 Sept 2026
Osaka Halal Restaurant — osaka-halal-restaurant.jpMS1500-2009, hours, Friday buffet, no alcohol29 Sept 2026
Kineya Mugimaru (KIX T1 2F), airport page — kansai-airport.or.jpStatus D, "Halal" tag, T1 2F before security, 7:00–22:0031 Oct 2026
Kobe Beef Steak SAKURA, halal page — saidining.comStatus C, dedicated halal utensils, hours28 Sept 2026
Tsuki Usagi Kobe — tsukiusagikobe.jpHalal course only28 Sept 2026
GYUMON Nara — gyumon-group.comStatus B, address, conflicting hours28 Sept 2026
Namba CITY, information — nambacity.comPrayer room B1F, ask at the B2F counter, 11:30–20:0018 Oct 2026
Osaka Station City, FAQ — osakastationcity.comPrayer room 1F, register at North Gate Building 3F, 11:00–18:00, 20 minutes18 Oct 2026
LaLaport EXPOCITY, prayer room — mitsui-shopping-park.com2F Orange side, men's and women's rooms with ablution, 1F counter18 Oct 2026
Kansai International Airport, prayer rooms (Japanese) — kansai-airport.or.jp24時間 (24 hours, for all visitors); 3F general area 一般エリア and the international departure gate area; separate for men and women, ablution areas31 Oct 2026
Kansai International Airport, prayer rooms (English) — kansai-airport.or.jpLocations only: T1 3F and the international gate area (Main Building, North Wing); no hours31 Oct 2026
Tempozan Marketplace, floor map (PDF) — kaiyukan.comPrayer room on 3F28 Sept 2026
Osaka Ibaraki Mosque — osakamosque.orgAddress, site last updated March 202428 Sept 2026
Kobe Muslim Mosque — kobemosque.comVisiting hours, fake-site warning29 Sept 2026
Le Marrakech, official calendar — dunetrading.bizTemporarily closed 28 Sept–24 Oct 202628 Sept 2026
Other places in section 4 (Naritaya, Three Peace Matsuri, Sheraton Miyako, Kuromon, Mitsuru, Gokumiya, Tani9, USJ) — URL: not recordedWhy they aren't listed28–29 Sept 2026
Room-for-4 prices in Namba/Shinimamiya (Trip.com, our article) — tanyajepun.comRM258–304 a night, 28 Nov–2 Dec 202612 Sept 2026
The 3 halal labels at Japanese konbini (our article) — tanyajepun.com7-Eleven, FamilyMart and Lawson have no halal certificationNot recorded

Book for this trip

Affiliate links may be used; your price doesn't change.

Before you fly: the map of 231 halal places & prayer rooms (US$6.99) — December Edition, 15 Nov.

Free cheat sheetFree: "Read a Japanese food label in 60 seconds" (PDF, EN and BM) — get it here. Save this.