Tokyo Hotels for Muslim Families: Prayer Rooms, Qibla Compasses, a Kitchen to Cook Halal — and December Prices
Checked 2026-10-12 · Updated 2026-10-28
Each hotel's Muslim services below are from its own official page (or its group's), checked 12 October 2026. Prices are from Trip.com on 12 October 2026 for 7–11 December, 1 room, 2 adults + 2 kids (8 and 5). Hotels whose own sites don't mention Muslim services are listed at the end, not in the table.
Short answer (checked 12 Oct 2026). 7 Tokyo hotels or hotel groups say on their own sites today what they offer Muslim guests. Prayer rooms: Hotel Villa Fontaine Grand Haneda Airport (one for men, one for women), Grand Prince Hotel Shin Takanawa (guests only), Sunshine City Prince Hotel (with washing facilities) and Sakura Hotel Hatagaya. Prayer mats and qibla compasses to borrow: every MIMARU (which also has a kitchen in every room and Muslim-only utensils) and every hotel MONday. Hotel Chinzanso puts a mat and a compass in your room if you ask when booking. But none of them has a halal-certified kitchen. On Trip.com for 7–11 December, rooms for 4 cost RM522–2,154 a night; Chinzanso and Sunshine City Prince were full.
0. Choose by plan in 4 lines
| If you… | Stay | Pray / eat nearby |
|---|---|---|
| Want Asakusa or Ueno (first trip) | MIMARU (Ueno, Asakusa…) — cook halal in your own kitchen; or hotel MONday Asakusa — borrow a mat and compass | Masjid Dar-Al-Arqam (Higashi-Asakusa), Masjid As-Salaam (between Ueno and Akihabara); halal wagyu with a prayer room in Asakusa and Ueno |
| Want the cheapest room for 4 | Sakura Hotel Hatagaya — "prayer room" on its service list | Tokyo Camii is on the Shibuya side (Yoyogi-Uehara) |
| Land late or fly early at Haneda | Hotel Villa Fontaine Grand Haneda Airport — prayer rooms for men and women, connected to T3 | Haneda T3 3F prayer rooms (before security) |
| Take the Shinkansen from Shinagawa | Grand Prince Hotel Shin Takanawa — guests-only prayer room | — |
231 places — halal food, prayer rooms and mosques — in 19 prefectures of Japan, each with its official source and check date. US$6.99, one-time, free updates. See the map →
1. What each hotel says, and the December price
| Hotel | Area / station | What the official page says | Trip.com, 7–11 Dec, 2 adults + 2 kids |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sakura Hotel Hatagaya | Hatagaya, 2 min from Hatagaya Station (South Exit) | "Prayer room" on its list of services — no location, hours or items given. The café next door doesn't mention halal | RM522/night (Japanese-style room for 4, free cancellation to 3 Dec; RM2,297 for 4 nights incl. taxes), rated 8.0 — see on Trip.com |
| Grand Prince Hotel Shin Takanawa | Shinagawa, about 5 min uphill from Shinagawa Station (Takanawa Exit) | Prayer room for guests only, Guest Room Building 1F; tell the front desk before using it. Shared with Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa and The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo guests. Hours, mats and qibla not stated | RM876/night (Superior Twin, free cancellation to 4 Dec; RM4,310 for 4 nights), rated 8.7 — see on Trip.com |
| hotel MONday Asakusa (group: Ginza, Asakusa, Ueno, Haneda…) | Asakusa | At all MONday hotels: prayer mats, qibla compasses and women's prayer garments to borrow, first come first served. The group says it is not a halal-certified hotel, and its breakfast kitchen is not a dedicated halal kitchen | RM1,062/night (Family Room for 4; RM4,671 for 4 nights), rated 8.9 — see on Trip.com |
| MIMARU Tokyo Ueno East (15 MIMARU in Tokyo) | Ueno | At all MIMARU: a kitchen in every room, Muslim-only kitchen utensils (knife, chopping board, some dishes), prayer mats and qibla compasses to borrow — limited, so contact the hotel before you arrive. Rooms about 40–100 m² | RM1,607/night (Family Apartment for 4, free cancellation to 27 Nov; RM7,073 for 4 nights), rated 9.0 — see on Trip.com |
| Hotel Villa Fontaine Grand Haneda Airport | Connected to Haneda Terminal 3 | Prayer room: one for men and one for women. Nursing room with 3 private rooms. Halal food not mentioned | RM2,154/night (the room shown for 4 was a Premier Floor Executive Twin; RM9,502 for 4 nights), rated 9.3 — see on Trip.com |
| Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo | Mejirodai, about 10 min from Edogawabashi Station (Exit 1a) | Prayer mats and qibla compasses placed in your room free — ask when you book. A halal-friendly kaiseki, "The Akebono", ¥28,000 (≈ RM723) with halal-certified beef — book 7 days ahead. It is cooked in the same kitchen with the same utensils as other dishes; the hotel says it is not halal-certified (page updated 7 Apr 2026) | Full for 2 adults + 2 kids on 7–11 Dec |
| Sunshine City Prince Hotel | Ikebukuro, 3 min from Higashi-Ikebukuro Station (Exit 6/7) | "A permanent Muslim prayer room with prayer rugs, facilities for washing hands and feet." Floor and hours not stated | Full for 4 nights on 7–11 Dec (single nights from RM1,679) |
Prices change daily; the per-night price excludes taxes, the 4-night total includes them.
Book on Trip.com (prices 12 Oct 2026; free cancellation depends on the room, see the table): Tokyo hotels for 7–11 Dec, 2 adults + 2 kids
2. Where to pray and eat
From the mosques', airport's and restaurants' official pages, checked 28 September 2026. Full list: Halal food & prayer in Tokyo.
- Haneda: Terminal 3, 3F — 2 prayer rooms before security. Terminal 2 international: 3F (before) and 2F (after). None in Terminal 1.
- Narita: prayer rooms in T1, T2 and T3, before and after security.
- Tokyo Camii (Yoyogi-Uehara): open daily 10:00–18:00; on Fridays, visits only after 14:30. Halal market next door.
- Masjid Dar-Al-Arqam (Higashi-Asakusa) and Masjid As-Salaam (between Ueno and Akihabara).
- Halal wagyu with a prayer room: Ninja Yakiniku Asakusa and SHINJUKU-TEI (Ueno, Shinjuku, Shibuya and more).
3. Traps
- No hotel here has a halal-certified kitchen. Chinzanso's halal kaiseki is cooked in the shared kitchen; hotel MONday's breakfast kitchen isn't a halal kitchen. To eat halal, cook in a MIMARU kitchen (with its Muslim-only utensils) or go to a halal restaurant.
- Prayer items run out. MIMARU and hotel MONday lend them first come, first served — ask when you book.
- Big names you'll see on lists don't say it on their own sites. Keio Plaza Hotel, Hotel New Otani, Imperial Hotel and Palace Hotel Tokyo don't mention Muslim services on their official pages today. Ask in writing before you book.
- Narita: we found no hotel near Narita whose own site states Muslim services. Pray in the airport's prayer rooms instead.
- Rooms for 4 go first. For 7–11 December, Chinzanso and Sunshine City Prince had no room for 4 on Trip.com (12 October).
The full map (paid): 231 places to eat halal, pray and find a mosque in 19 prefectures of Japan — each with its official source and check date. See it here.
Services can change: confirm with the hotel in writing before you book.
Links in this article may be affiliate links (Trip.com, Klook). The price you pay doesn't change.
Sources
| Source | For | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Sakura Hotel Hatagaya, services — sakura-hotel.co.jp | "Prayer room" | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Grand Prince Hotel Shin Takanawa, guests-only prayer room — princehotels.com | Prayer room, Guest Room Building 1F | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Sunshine City Prince Hotel, facilities — princehotels.com | Permanent prayer room, rugs, washing facilities | 12 Oct 2026 |
| hotel MONday, Muslim-friendly page — hotel-monday.com | Mats, qibla compasses, prayer garments; not a halal-certified hotel | 12 Oct 2026 |
| MIMARU, Muslim-friendly news (5 Jan 2023) — mimaruhotels.com; FAQ — URL: not recorded | Kitchen, Muslim-only utensils, mats, qibla compasses | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Hotel Villa Fontaine Grand Haneda Airport, facilities — hvf.jp | Men's and women's prayer rooms, nursing room | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, Muslim-friendly page (updated 7 Apr 2026) — hotel-chinzanso-tokyo.com | Mats, qibla compasses, "The Akebono" kaiseki | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Keio Plaza Hotel, Hotel New Otani Tokyo, Imperial Hotel Tokyo, Palace Hotel Tokyo — URL: not recorded | No Muslim services listed | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Haneda Airport, prayer rooms — tokyo-haneda.com | T3 3F, T2 international, none in T1 | 28 Sept 2026 |
| Narita Airport, prayer rooms — narita-airport.jp | Prayer rooms in T1, T2, T3 | 28 Sept 2026 |
| Tokyo Camii — tokyocamii.org | Opening hours, Friday visits | 28 Sept 2026 |
| Islamic Circle of Japan, Masjid Dar-Al-Arqam — islaminjapan.org | Mosque in Higashi-Asakusa | 28 Sept 2026 |
| As-Salaam Foundation — assalaamfoundation.jp | Masjid As-Salaam | 28 Sept 2026 |
| Ninja Yakiniku Asakusa — ninjayakiniku.com | Halal wagyu, prayer room | 28 Sept 2026 |
| SHINJUKU-TEI — halal-shinjukutei.com | Halal wagyu, prayer room | 28 Sept 2026 |
| Trip.com — each hotel's link in table 1 | Prices for 7–11 Dec 2026, 1 room, 2 adults + 2 children | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Klook, Keisei Skyliner — klook.com | Ticket price | 12 Oct 2026 |
| ECB reference rate (¥100 = RM2.581) — URL: not recorded | Yen to ringgit | 9 Oct 2026 |
Book for this trip
Affiliate links may be used; your price doesn't change.
- Sakura Hotel Hatagaya, 7–11 Dec, 2 adults + 2 kids, RM522/night (checked 12 Oct 2026): see on Trip.com
- MIMARU Tokyo Ueno East (kitchen, Muslim-only utensils), same dates, RM1,607/night: see on Trip.com
- Narita → Ueno by Keisei Skyliner, from RM56.39 (rated 4.9, checked 12 Oct 2026): ticket on Klook
Before you fly: the map of 231 halal places & prayer rooms (US$6.99) — December Edition, 15 Nov.